My first day of class

Well I had my very first class at a Chilean University today and it went pretty well.  I got to the room about 20 minutes early because you all know me and I like to be overprepared for everything so I got there way to earlyto ensure I wouldn’t be late but it turns out there is a tendencyfor Chilean professors to arrive late to their classes (anywhere from 5-20 minutes late) so I sat outside the classroom and waited for a while because all classrooms remained locked until the teacher arrives with the key to unlock it.  So the class went well, everyone introduced themselves and where they were from and then we got into groups did a small exercise and then class was over for the first day.  Overall the professor was very nice and friendly but she talked suuuuuuuuuuuper fast! I understood most of what she said but I also asked her a couple questions after class that I needed clarification on which she gladly answered.  One thing I found strange about the classrooms was that the desks were super close together, like literally touching one another so it was a little difficult to get in and out of them and you don’t really have personal space but it’s not that bad.  I only had one class today in a building I had already had to get to alone, tomorrow will be the real adventure at the campus that is about 25 minutes away by bus and I have to walk 15 minutes once I get off the bus.  It’s my fist time going to the campus alone so I hope I don’t get lost!!

About smartinez508

I attend Agnes Scott College in Georgia but am currently studying in Valparaiso, Chile for 5 months. I am studying at Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso. This is the second time traveling outside the US and the first time alone. I am twenty years old and am excited and nervous about being alone in another country for so long but my new host family will ease the transition and make it bearable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first day of class

  1. Lissette says:

    Doesn’t this make you appreciate Agnes a little more? Haha all the buildings are no more than 5 min a part and no need to take any buses!

  2. smartinez508 says:

    Seriously it really does!!! I love our tiny little campus and I miss the comfort of knowing I’m not going to be late to class even if I wake up 2 hours beforehand. We have it so nice over there with our campus but I’m starting to get into the groove of my long journeys every morning and realizing that it’s not that bad… two girls in my class today told me they travel an hour and a half EVERYDAY, each way, by bus to get to class!! That’s crazy, but a lot of people do that to go to such a good university and to live with their families!

Leave a comment